Home Businesses – Their Stories #1

As promised in my post last week, I will be bringing you stories of others, like me, who are working for themselves, giving them family flexibility. Hopefully, they will inspire! These weekly posts will include a round up of the week’s new joiners, with links to their blogs for you to go and investigate further. All blogs will be displayed on my blogroll and Pinterest board, so you’ll always be able to find them. And I’ll add more every week, so follow to keep on reading, or comment or get in touch for me to pop your blog on here, too. I am looking for blogs, not websites/business adverts, as I’d like to hear about stories and businesses in your own words, so we can all get a feel for what it’s all about 🙂

First up this week, we have Iris’ Baked By Me. Taken from her blog ‘I am Iris, lover of food and beautiful things for the home. Passionate about fuss free baking. This is a blog featuring delicious goodies baked by Iris (me!), our cookie mixes, bakeware items and practical partyware.’ – so check it out and follow if baking’s your thing, or if you just like cookies!!

Next up, we have Keren Baker’s crafty blog. In her own words ‘I’m living in Liverpool, married with 5 great kids and for my sanity I create. I reckon its cheaper than therapy and I love making stuff. Scrapbooking, papercrafting, cards.. you name it, I will craft with it.’ Keren also offers craft classes, so check out the blog for more details.

Now it’s Rachel at Pretty ParTea. Rachel’s blog explains ‘The inspiration behind Pretty ParTea was her 2 girls who are very girly and enjoy hosting tea parties, picnics and pretending to be Princesses. Being a Stay At Home Mum getting to the shops can be challenging at times, and online shopping can become tedious having to source the best products, at best prices and would eventually spend hours searching and ordering from different sites. With this, and her love of parties, Rachel decided to set up Pretty ParTea.’ Pop over there and browse all of her gorgeous goodies!

And last, but by no means, least, we have Fiona over at Coombe Mill, family farm holidays. Her brilliant blog can be found here, and brings us news of all the latest fun on the farm, as well as how it all fits in with her family life – she’s a mum to 6, so there’s a fair bit to fit in!

As it’s the very first week of doing this, I also have one brand new start up story that I’d like to share with you. There is no blog here, so I’m sharing Jacqueline’s story in her own words…

jacqueline‘I launched my website in March 2013 after being a single parent for a year. I was just about scraping by on benefits, but as I want to Home Educate my daughter I decided I had better do something to ensure I can finance that once she is school age. She is 3 in June, so that gives me a couple of years to make it work.

I have always had a passion for wooden toys and home decor – they have a beauty about their look, feel and even smell that you just don’t get with other materials. Having a background in IT and specifically html, I decided to combine the two and created my website, ‘It’s a Wood Thing’.

I’ve been registered as self employed for just over a month now and I can honestly say – bar having children of course – it’s been the scariest, most challenging and nerve racking yet most liberating and exciting experience yet!

I still have a way to go to turn it into a successful business, but I’m enjoying the challenge. My daughter only attends nursery 6 hours a week so most of my hours are made up between 8pm and 1am, which is exhausting, but I always fall into bed satisfied that I am doing something positive for our future.’

Good luck, Jacqueline!

So 4 new additions to the blogroll and 1 brand new start up story. And, of course, there’s always my business story that you’re welcome to come and be a part of! Are you raring to go and try it for yourself now?!  Do check them out, and keep following for more inspiration……

6 thoughts on “Home Businesses – Their Stories #1

  1. Coombe Mill (Fiona) (@coombemill)

    What a wonderful round up of some great businesses, some of whome I know and others I shall be popping over to visit now. Thank you for including me in your first week round up, thrilled to have been included. Wishing Jacqueline all the best with her venture too.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Home Businesses – Their Stories #2 | ihavecards

Leave a Reply

