Our Family Holiday

With my work, I can pick it up and put it down whenever I need to, so I pretty much got to ‘put it down’ last week, as we went away, though I did promote my guest post on direct selling over on Joanne Dewberry’s blog (whenever I could – 3G and wi-fi permitting!), composed a new blog post and planned for next Wednesday’s on-line cards party – it’ll be on my Facebook page and Twitter feed, so don’t miss that. It’s a chance to take a nosey around Phoenix, with friendly chatter, quizzing and freebies 🙂 Anyway, I though it’d be nice to share with you my week’s holiday, with my cards supporting the events, having discovered we have cards for pretty much everything!

We had a great week in Poole, and I’m happy to say, we all loved it! We stayed in a caravan (it had a deck, a fridge freezer and very good heating – those of you who caravan will know how great a prize this is!), at a great park just outside Poole.

Caravan Family A095

Caravan Family A095

 

There were several playgrounds, an indoor and outdoor pool (we didn’t see anyone braving the outdoor pool!), so the 3 year old was delighted and baby boy got to have his first swim (he deemed it acceptable) and his first go on a swing (loved that!) And all of these adventures without even leaving the park…

little swimmers

Little Swimmers L267

Dorset’s actually an area that neither myself or my husband have explored before. I spent many a caravan holiday in my childhood down in Devon, Cornwall, Somerset and Wales (we’re Midlanders so these are pretty much the easiest places to get to), but not Dorset, so I was really looking forward to discovering it’s delights. Before going, I put a little question out on twitter asking for recommendations, and I was really pleased to have lots of suggestions from people, particularly from @ChelseaMamma (Kara’s website’s here) who emailed over a document full of ideas, categorised by ‘free’, ‘National Trust’, ‘for kids’, ‘if it’s wet’ and ‘for the adults’ – how fab is that?! And the verdict is that we loved Dorset, and crammed in as much as we could, including a stop on the way at Bicester Village (had to be done?) and on the way back we took in Salisbury Cathedral.

While there we went to Marwell Zoo..

Do Not Feed WS237

Do Not Feed WS237

Bournemouth beach, including a meal on the seafront at Harry Ramsden’s 🙂

Seaside Fun JY60

Seaside Fun JY60

A walk round Poole and the quay (thanks @SurfersChick)

Quayside A033

Quayside A033

Trips to several pretty towns, Swanage, Sandbanks, Wimborne..

Tea and Cake Shops L260

Tea and Cake Shops L260

We wanted to do Moors Valley Park as @KateFairgrieve had mentioned a Gruffalo Trail there, but the weather stopped being kind to us, so we didn’t fit that one in. We’d also have done another few sights, such as Corfe Castle (we did see it from the car!) and a cliff top walk around Lulworth Cove, but thanks to @ChelseaMamma, we knew these weren’t buggy friendly so we gave them a miss. We went to the New Forest last year, and visited Peppa Pig World, so though visiting that area again would have been lovely, but no time! So we will be back, Dorset, oh yes…! 

Cards pictured are all £1.50 each or £1.20 each when you buy any 10 or more available at www.jocelynscards.co.uk

4 thoughts on “Our Family Holiday

  1. Kara Guppy

    Glad you had fun – love all your cards.
    Let me know when you come back – I will show you the hidden gems and take you to find the Gruffalo xx

    Reply
    1. ihavecards Post author

      It’s really gorgeous – loved it! So many lovely people I’ve ‘met’ via twitter & blogging live there, so felt I was near friends all week!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

